en English
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

SSD Trim Introduction. Why your SSD became slower?

Reading Guide: To solve the problem of slowing down the speed of hard drives, Microsoft teamed up with major SSD manufacturers to develop a new technology-Trim.
The Trim instruction, also known as disabling delete notify (disable deletion Notification), is a technical instruction of the ata8-acs2 specification.
When using SSD, you must make sure that the Trim instruction in the system is turned on.

What is TRIM?

When it comes to SSD solid state drives, we often see the term Trim instruction, what is Trim???

To solve the problem of slowing down the speed of hard drives, Microsoft teamed up with major SSD manufacturers to develop a new technology-Trim.
The Trim instruction, also known as disable delete notify (disable deletion Notification), is a technical instruction of the ata8-acs2 specification.
When using SSD, you must make sure that the Trim instruction in the system is turned on.

Make sure that the TRIM is turned on.

After the system starts the Trim command on the SSD that supports the Trim instruction, when we delete the data to the SSD, we know that the NTFS file system does not send the delete instruction to the SSD. SSD issues a new Trim operation instruction, telling it that the relevant pages can be safely erased. After getting this instruction, we will not rush to perform the erase operation, but wait until there is a write operation again.
Because the relevant area can be reused at this time, there is no need to take the time to erase the original data.
Its speed is much faster than directly reading and writing the hard disk to mark the deleted area, which not only improves the reading and writing efficiency but also greatly reduces the loss of the solid-state hard disk.

What is the use of Trim?

If SSD supports the Trim instruction, then SSD can be used without dropping speed for a long time, otherwise SSD will become slower as it is used for a long time.

How to check if Trim is enabled on your computer

  • Click the start menu, right-click on the attached command prompt, and select run with administrator privileges
  • Enter “fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify”
  • If the return value is 0, it means that your TRIM is enabled.
  • If the return value is 1, it means that your TRIM is turned off

Methods to open TRIM and close TRIM

Opening: in command line mode

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0

Closing: in command line mode

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − five =

Let's Have A Chat

Learn How We Served 100+ Global Device Brands with our Products & Get Free Sample!!!

Email Popup Background 2